Frequently Asked Questions

  • 21 years of age to purchase rifles or shotguns. (Please refer to FAQ question 7, if you are under 21 years of age.)
  • 21 years of age to purchase handguns, lower receivers and “pistol-grip only” shotguns.
  • CA AB60 was signed into law by Governor Brown and mandates that the California DMV issue driver’s licenses regardless of immigration status.
  • It is unclear whether a person with a “FEDERAL LIMITS APPLY” driver license or identification card is eligible to purchase a firearm under federal law, because that person was not necessarily required to submit satisfactory proof of lawful presence in the United States.
  • Recently enacted state legislation (Cal. Stats. 2018, ch. 885, S.B. 244) prohibits certain “FEDERAL LIMITS APPLY” driver licenses and identification cards—those issued to persons who were not required to submit satisfactory proof of lawful presence in the United States—from being used as evidence of an individual’s citizenship or immigration status for any purpose. These driver licenses and identification cards are physically indistinguishable from other “FEDERAL LIMITS APPLY” driver licenses and identification cards issued to individual who have provided satisfactory proof of lawful presence in the United States.
  • The California Department of Justice suggests that if a prospective purchaser presents a “FEDERAL LIMITS APPLY” driver license or identification card, a firearms dealer may wish to consider asking for documentation of lawful presence in the United States, such as a:
    1. Valid, unexpired U.S. passport or passport card
    2. Certified copy of U.S. birth certificate
    3. U.S. Certificate or Consular Report of Birth Abroad of a U.S. Citizen
    4. Valid, unexpired foreign passport with valid U.S. immigrant visa and approved Record of Arrival/Departure (I-94) form
    5. Certified copy of birth certificate from a U.S. Territory
    6. Certificate of Naturalization or U.S. Citizenship
    7. Valid, unexpired Permanent Resident Card
  • A valid California driver license or a valid California identification card issued by the Department of Motor Vehicles with your current residence address.
  • FSC card or exemption.
  • Proof of residency, which is the following: car registration, utility bill, residential lease etc. (Please refer to FAQ question 10 for detailed requirements.)
  • A valid California driver license or a valid California identification card issued by the Department of Motor Vehicles with your current residence address.
  • FSC card or exemption.
  • A valid military identification card and official orders showing where his/her permanent duty station is located, which would have to be in California.
  • Proof of residency, which is the following: car registration, utility bill, residential lease etc. (Please refer to FAQ question 10 for detailed requirements.)·
  • Active duty service members are exempt from the FSC requirement.
  • A valid military identification card and official orders showing where his/her permanent duty station is located, which would have to be in California.
  • Active duty service members are exempt from the FSC requirement.

You must meet one of the following exemptions:

  • Possesses a valid, unexpired hunting license issued by the Department of Fish and Wildlife.
  • Is an active peace officer, as described in Chapter 4.5 (commencing with section 830) of Title 3 of Part 2 of the Penal Code, who is authorized to carry a firearm in the course and scope of his or her employment.
  • Is an active federal officer or law enforcement agent who is authorized to carry a firearm in the course and scope of his or her employment
  • Is a reserve peace officer, as defined in section 832.6 of the Penal Code, who is authorized to carry a firearm in the course and scope of his or her employment as a reserve peace officer.
  • Provides proper identification of his or her active membership in the United States Armed Forces, the National Guard, the Air National Guard, or active reserve components of the United States; or provides proper identification that he or she is an honorably discharged member of the United States Armed Forces, the National Guard, the Air National Guard, or active reserve components of the United States.
  • Federal law mandates that a dealer may not sell or transfer a firearm unless the purchaser provides the dealer with a valid government-issued photo ID that includes the purchaser’s residence address.
  • If the address on your CA Driver’s license is not current or if the address reflects a business address or P.O. Box, you will be required to provide an alternate government document (e.g. car registration) that reflects your current residence address.
    (Feel free to contact us for more examples of government issued documents that would suffice)
  • Prior to purchasing or acquiring a firearm, unless exempt, you must have a valid Firearm Safety Certificate (FSC).
  • You must present your FSC to the firearms dealer at the time you begin a transaction to purchase.
  • To obtain an FSC you must be at least 18 years old and score at least 75% (23 correct answers out of 30 questions) on the FSC Test covering firearm safety and basic firearms laws. This is a true/false and multiple-choice test.      
  • We offer the FSC test for $25.00 in-store and the test can be taken anytime we are open; no appointment is necessary.
  • The $25.00 fee entitles you to take the test twice if necessary. If you fail the test the first time, you may retake another version of the test from the same DOJ Certified Instructor without any additional fee after 24 hours have elapsed.
  • If you would like to study, prior to taking the test, the free study guide can be found here.     
  • An FSC is valid for five years from the date of issuance. If you lose your FSC, replacement is available only through the DOJ Certified Instructor who issued your FSC.
  • The FSC replacement cost is $5. The replacement FSC will reflect the same expiration date as your original FSC. 

A. Utility bill from within the past three months that bears on its face the individual’s name and either of the following:

    1. The individual’s current residential address as declared on the DROS form; or
    2. The individual’s residential address as it appears on his or her California Driver License or California Identification Card, or change of address attachment thereto.

“Utility bill” means a statement of charges for providing service to the individual’s residence by either a physical connection (i.e., hard wired Internet, telephone connection or cable connection, or a water or gas pipeline connection) or a telemetric connection (i.e., satellite television or radio broadcast service) to a non-mobile, fixed antenna reception device.

B. Residential lease that bears the individual’s name and either of the following:

    1. The individual’s current residential address as declared on the DROS form; or
    2. The individual’s address as it appears on his or her California Driver License or California Identification Card, or change of address attachment thereto.

“Residential lease” means either of the following:

      1. A signed and dated contract by which the individual (tenant) agrees to pay a specified monetary sum or provide other consideration for the right to occupy an abode for a specified period of time; or
      2. A signed and dated rental agreement by which the individual (tenant) agrees to pay a specified monetary sum or provide other consideration at fixed intervals for the right to occupy an abode.

C. Property deed that bears the individual’s name and either of the following:

        1. The individual’s current residential address as declared on the DROS form; or
        2. The individual’s address as it appears on his or her California Driver License or California Identification Card, or change of address attachment thereto.

“Property deed” means either or the following:

      1. A valid deed of trust for the individual’s property of current residence that identifies the individual as a grantee of the trust; or
      2. A valid Certificate of Title issued by a licensed title insurance company that identifies the individual as a title holder to his or her property of current residence.

D. Current, government-issued license, permit, or registration, other than a California Driver License or California Identification Card, that has a specified expiration date or period of validity. The license, permit, or registration must bear the individual’s name and either of the following:

    1. The individual’s current residential address as declared on the DROS form; or
    2. The individual’s address as it appears on his or her California Driver License, California Identification Card, or change of address attachment thereto.

Examples of acceptable proof of residency:

    1. Carry Concealed Weapon (CCW) Permit.
    2. Certificate of Eligibility (COE.)
    3. Curio and Relic (C &R) Federal Firearms License (03 FFL) with name and address.
    4. Current DMV Disabled Placard.
    5. Current DMV Registrations.
    6. Electricity, gas, cable bill with purchaser’s name on it from within the last 3 months.
    7. Resident Hunting License issued by Department of Fish and Wildlife
    8. 10.Fishing License: Commercial, Resident Sport, Lifetime, 1, 2, and 10 day licenses issued by the Department of Fish and Wildlife.
    9. Signed, dated and notarized rental agreement/contract.

Examples of documents that are NOT acceptable proof of residency:

    1. 12.Active Duty Military Spouse ID.
    2. 13.Bank Statement.
    3. 14.Brown Card.
    4. 15.Cellular Phone bill.
    5. 16.Fishing Validations and Report Cards.
    6. 17.Hunting license- Standard, Self-Filled.
    7. 18.Pay Stub.
    8. 19.Voter Registration.

(Pen. Code, § 26845 and Cal. Code Reg., tit. 11, § 4045)

Peace officers, including reserve and retired peace officers, may present valid credentials issued by a California law enforcement agency in lieu of the other required residency documentation.

The state of California requires a waiting period of 10 – 24-hour periods or 240 hours after the DROS is submitted.

Every DROS expires after 30 days from the date of submission.

If your DROS expires, we are required by state law to reprocess the paperwork, start a new 10 day wait and a $37.19 fee. 

The California DOJ (Department of Justice) is authorized by Penal Code section 28220 to temporarily delay a firearm transaction for up to 30 days from the date of transaction when the Department is unable to immediately determine the purchaser’s eligibility to own/possess firearms. If 30 days has passed since the transaction date and the Department is still unable to determine the purchaser’s eligibility to own/possess firearms or whether the firearm involved in the sale/transfer is stolen, the Department will notify the dealer. It will then be at the dealer’s sole discretion whether to release to you the firearm. If your background check results in an undetermined status, generally we will release the firearm(s) to you.

If you have any uncertainty of passing the mandatory background check, please fill out form BOF 116 CALIFORNIA DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE BUREAU OF FIREARMS Personal Firearms Eligibility Check Application. The DOJ will send you a letter determining your eligibility.

116 CALIFORNIA DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE BUREAU OF FIREARMS Personal Firearms Eligibility Check Application

Welcome to navigating the firearm purchasing process in the state of California. We have created this section specifically for our first-time firearm buyers, or if you moved here from out of state, or just want to be able to navigate California’s firearm purchasing with ease. It is common knowledge that California’s gun laws are complex and can be extremely difficult to understand. That is simply because there is an overabundance of information to read and know. We have invested decades of time in the firearm industry, which translates to making the purchasing process and information available, simple. That is another reason we created this, to help arm every law-abiding citizen who is eligible to own and possess a firearm. The only way we can do that, is to make sure it is done properly and in accordance with state and federal law.

One of the first questions we get asked, “I am moving here from “insert state here”, can I bring my firearms with me?” The short answer is, YES!

Pistols do not have to be on the CA DOJ handgun roster. You can bring a non-roster handgun, e.g. (Glock 19 Gen 5), but you can’t bring a magazine with a capacity over 10 rounds. You also can’t bring a pistol that has a threaded barrel installed (that is an assault weapon by CA definition). Once you arrive to California you need to fill out the CA DOJ New Resident Firearm Ownership Report. This report must be completed within 60 days of bringing a firearm into the state of California and becoming a resident. If you are interested in other types of pistols that constitute an assault weapon read Penal Code 30515.

Can I bring my AR-15 or AK-47 with me to California? Yes, you can! You will have to make it California compliant before it enters the state. There are two configurations for either of these rifles, break action and featureless. Here are two examples:

This is a break action CA compliant AR-15 from LWRC. This is a semi-automatic rifle has collapsible stock, pistol grip and a flash hider. The reason this rifle is CA complaint is it has a Juggernaut Hellfighter kit installed which makes it a break action.

This is an example of a featureless rifle. It has a fixed stock, no pistol grip and doesn’t have a flash hider. The magazine drops freely by hand. Other similar rifles that are factory compliant assuming they follow the same features as described above: Ruger Mini-14, Ruger PC Carbine, Springfield M1A, M1 carbine, M1 Garand and many others.

There is no license to purchase a firearm in California. You do need a firearm safety certificate which you can take at our shop for $25.00.

Scroll to Top